2015

 1. What did you do in 2015 that you’d never done before?

Worked outside of the house for the first time since Jack was born, over 11 years ago. Sent my last baby to kindergarten.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Eh. Probably not. I am sure that I wanted to be more organized and exercise and I haven’t really been consistent about either one. Overall, I’m probably a tidge more organized than I was a year ago, but not exceedingly so.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Good friends of ours had a baby and I got to sniff his head and listen to his teeny baby squeaks.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

We went to two difficult funerals this year. Both for people who died way too young. One unexpectedly and one after a long illness.

5. What countries did you visit?

none! Visited New Jersey, though. Along with Virginia, this may have been one of my least traveled years.

6. What would you like to have in 2016 that you didn’t have in 2015?

A grasp on working a bit, for now it still scares the bejeezus out of me to think about getting all three kids to and from school while still getting myself ready and to and fro.

A finished basement playroom. (It’s actually almost done!)

Things hanging on the walls. (I keep buying things- I just get some sort of anxiety/commitment phobia when it comes to actually hanging them)

7. What dates from 2015 will be etched upon your memory, and why?

None that I can recall.

8. What was your biggest achievement of this year?

Kid sleep became manageable. Alllll of my evenings were held hostage by putting a difficult sleeper to bed. I couldn’t clean up the kitchen or have TV time with James, or have even a few minutes of adult time because I had to spend every night sitting in Molly’s room. Things are better now.

I became a regular reader again. I got a Kindle Paperwhite last Christmas, so in 2015 I always had a book to read. I downloaded tons of library books, and got hooked on checking titles off on Goodreads. I think regular reading lights up parts of my brain that until this year hadn’t been used in a while.

I kept this family moving, managing the everyday stuff. I’m in the season of life where everything is little, but adds up to so much.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Ugh. Letting people down. Not giving each of my kids all of the attention and focus they need and deserve. Not exercising in any consistent way.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

none serious

11. What was the best thing you bought?

New covers for our Ikea Ektorp sofa, loveseat and chair. We have had this furniture for 14 years I think, and for 9 of those years these have been our main family room furniture under heavy daily kid use. The covers lasted many washings and held up so well, considering. The new covers are gray and make them look brand new.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

James has worked his ass off this year. He deserves every professional accolade he has coming his way. And he did it all, putting in long hours, stretching his attention, all while still being a present and attentive father and husband.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

<name redacted>, <name redacted>

I could write a long paragraph basically listing the things people did or said on Facebook that I found appalling and offensive. But you know what? I won’t detail them, as just thinking about it is getting me all het up. (CLIMATE CHANGE IS REAL, WOMEN AND NON-WHITES DESERVE RECOGNITION OF THEIR REALITIES AND NOBODY NEEDS GUNS)

(KUMBAYA)

14. Where did most of your money go?

Our largest purchase was probably to finish our basement. I am VERY excited.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Augustoberfest (I love it, every year), kid free beach vacation, seeing Indigo Girls and Counting Crows concerts, a trip with just James and me.

16. What song will always remind you of 2015?

Shut Up and Dance with Me, Indigo Girls One Lost Day album

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?

Happier for sure. Fatter, also for sure. Richer in the best ways.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

exercise, womp womp

On this side of things I wish I had done more cleaning out and decluttering since it’s all still here and it’s back on the list for 2016.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

worry.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

With all of our family. Many days of seeing family and friends. It was exhausting but lovely.

21. What was your favorite TV program?

Friday Night Lights, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, The Great British Baking Show, Friends, Grace and Frankie, Orange is the New Black, The Kennedy Center Honors, Chef’s Table

22. What were your favorite books of the year?

I read SO MANY good books. Good stuff this year.

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates, Not My Father’s Son: A Memior by Alan Cumming, Blubber by Judy Blume, The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, Dreams from my Father: a Story of Race and Inheritance by Barack Obama, The Invention of Wings by Susan Kidd, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, Catherine the Great by Robert Massie, Paper Towns by John Green

(just go be friends with me on Goodreads)

23. What was your favorite music from this year?

Listened to a lot of Bruce Hornsby. A lot of Indigo Girls. Some Ryan Adams.

24. What was your favorite film from this year?

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

25. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 36 and I don’t remember anything in particular (it was back in April), but I’m sure it was lovely.

26. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

I’m pretty satisfied with where my life is right now. The only things I can think of are silly things like “ONE MEELLION DOLLARS”

27. How would you describe your personal fashion concept of 2015?

“you don’t know, I may have just come from a super intense yoga class and/or run”

Does this come in gray?

28. What kept you sane?

a box of white wine in my fridge. Knitting. Reading for sure.

29. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2015.

I wish I had some wise words that you could superimpose over a picture of the ocean and share on Facebook. But I guess: the older I get, the more sure of myself I am and that is a nice feeling.

 

My answers for 2013, & 2014

2 thoughts on “2015

Leave a Reply

