Roasted Veg & a New Cookbook

I am a sucker for roasted veg and for new cookbooks from Cook’s Illustrated. I heard Jack Bishop and one of the other chefs (I can’t remember her name) from CI on Fresh Air talking about The Complete Vegetarian Cookbook and I bought it immediately.  We are omnivores, but if I cook more vegetarian dishes, then we eat better overall. So far I have only made 2 recipes from this book, but they have both been super hits. Instead of trying more recipes, I’m making these same two again this week. The one that I made a big deal about over on Twitter and IG is Roasted Root Vegetables with Lemon Caper Sauce (the other is Stir-fried Asparagus with Shiitake Mushrooms).

Roasted vegetables — especially potatoes — is my favorite favorite way to eat vegetables. I can’t think of another way I would prefer to cook and eat them, including topped with cheese. 

Roasted Root Vegetables with Lemon-Caper Sauce, from The Complete Vegetarian Cookbook, America’s Test Kitchen

1 lb brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved

1 lb red potatoes, unpeeled, cut into 1-inch pieces

8 shallots, peeled and halved

6 garlic cloves, peeled

4 carrots, peeled and cut into 2-inch pieces, thick ends halved lengthwise

3 T extra virgin olive oil

2 t fresh thyme (I used ~1 t dried)

1 t minced fresh rosemary (I used ~1 t dried, un-minced)

1 t sugar

2 T minced fresh parsley (I used ~1 T dried)

1 1/2 T capers, rinsed and roughly chopped

1 T lemon juice, plus lemon wedges for serving

1. Adjust oven rack to middle posting and heat oven to 450 degrees. Toss Brussels sprouts, potatoes, shallots, carrots, garlic, 1 T olive oil, then, rosemary, sugar, 3/4 t salt, and 1/4 t pepper together in a bowl.

2. Spread vegetables on a single layer on rimmed baking sheet, arranging Brussels sprouts cut side down in the center of pan. Roast until vegetables are tender and golden brown, 30 to 35 minutes, rotating pan halfway through cooking.

3. Whisk parsley, capers, lemon juice, and remaining 2 T olive oil together in a large bowl. Add roasted vegetables, toss to combine, and season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve with lemon wedges.

Recipe notes:

  • I used dried herbs
  • I did not artfully arrange the Brussels cut side down and in the center, I just dumped them on the pan with everything else.
  • I didn’t serve with lemon wedges, but if I had them I would squeeze a little lemon on when eating them leftover.
  • I think the name of this recipe is a little off: I wouldn’t really consider Brussels sprouts a root vegetable. I’m not botanist, but carrots and potatoes grow under the ground, as roots, Brussels on top on the ground, so it’s more “Roasted Root Vegetables AND Brussels Sprouts” but I’m probably being nitpicky.

This was so good that the first night we had this, I think I ate more Brussels than is advisable. But it was so so good. And it made excellent leftovers. Reheated in a pan, they were super delicious with a squeeze of lemon and/or with a fried egg on top.

One thought on “Roasted Veg & a New Cookbook

  1. Pingback: What We’re Eating This Week | delicious happy life

Leave a Reply

