It’s Friday, I’m in Love

A journal, a post, a craft and a goal

~~~

IMG_5418I’ve had various notebooks floating around for menu planning: I have one where I scribble the week’s menu as I’m hashing it out. Then one where I jotted down recipes I wanted to make and didn’t want to forget. Then yet another where I wanted to record what we actually ate, so that when I was thinking back on a particularly memorable recipe I could look it up instead of wistfully wondering what book it came from or what exactly it was called so I could try and look it up. It’s not a streamlined system. But it gets the important work done: menus planned, groceries bought, food eaten. Then came the desire to remember what we served to company. Or who was actually over last year for New Year’s. Anyway.  All this to say:

I bought a Cook’s One Line a Day journal and I really really like it. I bought it from Amazon (here) and started in New Year’s Day. Every day since I have recorded what we made (or ate) for dinner. We had a bunch of people over for New Year’s Day pork and sauerkraut, so I detailed the menu as well as everyone who was there. Not every meal is cookbook-recipe-start-from-scratch, but it’s nice to record the night’s we went out or what we did with leftovers too.

(I should also note that even though the book starts on January 1st, you really could start it at any time. It’s a five-year journal, so over the course of the 5 years, you will be cycling through each of the pages.)

~~~

I am still catching up on my Holiday blog reading and I really loved Swistle’s Christmas Day post. As an adult, Christmas can be so much of a chore and finding the magic can be really hard sometimes. Swistle put into words for me, the idea that “different things are wonderful in different years.” And I know that as an adult (as the MOM) I have to do a lot more work to make the Christmas magic happen, and I like the perspective that ok, maybe this is not a magical cookie year, but I will make the most important ones. Or maybe this is the year none of the light strands work and it’s too expensive to replace them all at once, so I’ll hang working half strands with the dead halves stuffed inside the tree. And then the part that WILL be magical this year can surprise me.

~~~

I knitted two hats over our winter break, one for James and one for myself. I’m pretty excited about them, the star pattern on his is the first time I had attempted any color work. And I love love the color yarn I chose for mine. I think the next time I buy yarn from Knit Picks (Swish, Wonderland Heather) I will buy more of it because I love it so so much.

(If you are a knitter or crocheter, you can find me on Ravelry here.)

IMG_5396 IMG_5401

~~~

I’m pretty proud of myself that I walked on the treadmill 3 times this week. And I ate preeetty healthily this week. My goal is to get back to running again. After I ran the half marathon in May, I haven’t run after that. My goal for this year is to get into a regular running/walking routine and run some 5ks. I’m not saying I wouldn’t run another half someday, but it will not be this year. It is hard enough to work in the time just to exercise, let alone 1 to 2 or 3 hour training runs.

So I’d say for the New Year I’m off to a good start. What do you have going on so far this year?

2 thoughts on “It’s Friday, I’m in Love

  1. I am trying to let my FitBit boss me more. I would really like to ALWAYS hit my goal, instead of SOMETIMES hitting it. I remember when I first got the FitBit, if I hadn’t hit my goal by the end of the day I’d be pacing around the house trying to get more steps, while now I shrug. I’d like to find somewhere in between “pacing while Paul falls asleep” and “shrugging.”

Leave a Reply

