Halloween Movies 2014

As I posted last year, holiday movies are a big part of our celebration season. The requirements are simple: on theme with the holiday, enjoyable to watch over and over, cheesy, and quotable. (And for Halloween movies, these are NOT scary. Family friendly isn’t a requirement, but I do not like horror movies.) I’ve added a couple of movies to our Halloween collection, so here is our current list, 2014 additions first:

  • ET – An excellent movie all around, but I like including it for Halloween. Super 80s nostalgic and heartwarming! This falls into the category of “movies that take place on the holiday, but do not explicitly address or embody the spirit of the holiday” (ahem, Die Hard). My older kids love it (8, 10) and the 4-year-old was ok with it, but needed to talk through a lot of the parts where the space men and police men are chasing and examining ET and Elliot. I still remember being freaked out by this part as a kid.
  • Beetlejuice – Not Halloween PER SAY but classic old school Tim Burton. Creepy, ghosty and delightful. Catherine O’Hara is perfection as Deelia Deetz. And a little part of my younger self will always identify with dark, quirky, unshakable Lydia, Wynona Rider’s character.
  • It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown
  • The Nightmare Before Christmas
  • Hocus Pocus

In looking ahead to next Halloween, I thought I’d do a quick internet search for a couple of new (to me) titles to add. And, well, there are actually quite a few I want to look for for next year:

  • Ghostbusters – We actually watch this one throughout the year, but adding it to Halloween would be a great way to indoctrinate the children.
  • The Addams Family
  • Edward Scissorhands
  • The Rocky Horror Picture Show (which I’ve NEVER seen!)
  • The Legend of Sleepy Hollow
  • Little Shop of Horrors
  • Gremlins
  • Army of Darkness
  • Escape from Witch Mountain – probably not Halloween, but I would LOVE to find and watch this one again
  • Mel Brooks’s Young Frankenstein
  • Teen Wolf
  • Casper
  • Mr. Boogedy – made for TV Disney movie; man would I love to get my hands on a copy of this

What else should I add to the list? What are your favorite Halloween movies?

IMG_4640.JPG

Leave a Reply

