2013

These questions came from Linda at All & Sundry, I have enjoyed reading her and others around the Internet answer these for years; reading A’dell and Jennie this week reminded me.

Seasons

1. What did you do in 2013 that you’d never done before?

Honestly, I don’t do a lot of new things. I am the mother of a 9 year old, a 7 year old and a 3 year old. For the first time, I find myself as the mother of kids and not babies, with no plans for any more. Our family has moved into a new phase, one (hopefully) without diapers and with a lot more sleep.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Gosh, I don’t think I set any last year. I probably wanted to lose weight and have a clean house. Next year I want to lose weight and have a clean house.

But actually, there is one thing I want for 2014:

I plan to run a half marathon in May. Along with running training, I want to be strong. I want to have a regular yoga practice, at home, primarily, but also to get back to regular classes at the studio. I will turn 35 this year and would really like to feel healthy and strong.

I want to eat healthier; the latter half of 2013 has been nutritionally lax. I have had a lot of fun and eaten a lot of delicious things, but I could use more beans and greens in my life.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Not super close, but a few of my friends did and a couple are expecting soon.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No.

5. What countries did you visit?

None other than my own! I visited a different state though: Florida twice, once to Disney World and once to Miami. I probably went to Virginia and Pennsylvania at some point, probably Delaware too.

6. What would you like to have in 2014 that you didn’t have in 2013?

A clean house. Paint on my walls. Pictures hanging.

7. What dates from 2013 will be etched upon your memory, and why?

Now that I think about it, I must not be a big date person because none really come to mind. The ones that stick out, though, are: in August, we had a great wedding weekend; August 25, Augustoberfest, a local Oktoberfest that is my personal German Christmas which we got to spend with my cousin and his wife from Missouri and lots of our friends; December 11, the day my husband and I left for Miami for a 6 day trip to go to a wedding.

8. What was your biggest achievement of this year?

Gosh, idk. I took care of 4 other humans and they seem to be doing well.

9. What was your biggest failure?

My lack of patience with my kids. Seriously, they can be super annoying, but I really should have been more patient and given them more space to be annoying.

I didn’t push on this thing at school for my one kid and I should have.

My house is still basically mess.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

None serious, thank goodness.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Well, this is going to sound really shallow, but the question was about things bought: a 50mm 1.4 camera lens, an iPhone 5S, an iPad mini for James so I got the iPad 2 as my very own, a Mac Book Pro for Christmas.

Yoga pants, new shoes. New bras that actually fit. Some great makeup purchases that are fun and feel pretty. Another white T-shirt from Target.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

This is a hard question. And one that I left blank for a while. I still don’t have a good answer. (This doesn’t bode well for the people around me, does it?)

I’d have to say my son. He is 9 1/2 and has actually become a cool person to be with. He is funny and kind and he is growing up to be a nice guy.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Lots of people on Facebook who took current events and celebrity gun/racist/homophobic rants as an opportunity to take an obnoxious, hateful stand. I expect this kind of thing from strangers on the Internet, but it’s disheartening when it’s coming from people you know in real life.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Our house payment I’m sure. Lots of food. Target.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Spending time with people we love. Trips we took, which included people we love. Weddings, Walt Disney World. A 5-night getaway with my husband, my cousin’s visit.

16. What song will always remind you of 2013?

Probably Wake Me Up. Anything Mumford and Sons. The Avett Brothers. Anything else played on the Mumford and Sons Pandora channel.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?

Happier. Every year I just seem to be happier and happier. I am more myself each year and that is a lovely happy feeling.

Uh, actually a little fatter. I’ve been running more, but eating a ton more. And drinking a lot because we have had a lot of celebrations this year. Well, and parenting. That seems to increase my drinking.

Richer in the best ways.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Spent good one on one time with each of my kids.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Fret. Feel like I’m not doing the *right* thing. Wash the damn dishes because I think I washed a heck of a lot of dishes.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

With our family. And kids at home Christmas morning to open Santa presents.

21. What was your favorite TV program?

I am behind the times and watch shows once they are on Netflix. I don’t know about favorite, but I really enjoyed: Arrested Development, Parks and Rec, Downton Abbey, Sherlock, How I Met Your Mother

22. What were your favorite books of the year?

I re-read Anne of Green Gables and truly it was more delightful than when I had read it as a kid. It was sweet and lovely and I smiled all the way through it. I didn’t read much else because I started reading Les Miserables in January and have yet to finish because dear god it is slow in some parts. And I’m stubborn and feel like I *have* to finish it. I don’t know if I will.

23. What was your favorite music from this year?

Oh just about anything played on the Mumford and Sons Pandora channel. I love Mumford, the Avett Brothers. I love Phillip Phillips “Gone” and “Home,” Griffin House “The Guy That Says Goodbye to You is Out of His Mind,” Avicii “Wake Me Up.”

24. What was your favorite film from this year?

Well, I loved Les Miserables (I think I saw that in January). I know not everyone liked it and especially those I know who are fans of the stage show were divided. I loved it because it felt like a really good cover song. Like, it will never replace the original, but it brought a new perspective to an old favorite.

Not new, but new to me: Crazy Stupid Love. I just love love a movie that shows life to be hard and that parts of it suck but that ultimately life is sweet and worth putting effort into. It also didn’t hurt to have Ryan Goslings abs. And Steve Carrel’s humor. And Emma Stone- I love her. Throw in a little Kevin Bacon and Josh Groban and you’re all set.

I did NOT like Anchorman 2. I feel like it’s worth mentioning so you don’t waste your time. It was an abomination and sullies the good name of Ron Burgundy.

25. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I don’t remember what exactly we did, but I’m sure it was lovely. I turned 34.

26. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

It’s a cop-out to say a windfall from an enormous inheritance or lucky lottery winning, right? Other than that, just knowing that I’m doing alright for my kids. Knowing that I’m not *really* screwing them up would help me to relax a little bit.

27. How would you describe your personal fashion concept of 2013?

Does it come from Target and cost less than $15?

28. What kept you sane?

James. He is perpetually my voice of reason, my sounding board, the person who scoops me up when I’m about to crack. Coffee. Beer. Bourbon. Running.

29. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013.

For me, 2013 was about people. People I love and people I just met. We got to celebrate a couple of friends’ weddings where we felt like family. I got to spend time with my cousin and his wife from Missouri. Getting to know them has been one of the most significant things to Internet has brought me. I made so many friends this year. I became closer to some people who I didn’t realize were right under my nose.  I have spent this year being around people and enjoying getting to know them and learning about them, relating to them, loving them.

Life is short. Love people. Humans are complex and seriously dysfunctional. Love them and be nice to them.

8 thoughts on “2013

  1. Happy New Years Eve Jess! What an honest beautiful post! You have inspired me to do some reflecting on 2013 to help me figure out what I want 2014 to look like. I know one goal already- spend more time hanging out with funny, honest, caring, and beautiful people like YOU!

  2. Pingback: 2013 Copycat | Feelings? I ate them all.

  3. Pingback: 2015 | delicious happy life

Leave a Reply

