A Bouquet of Newly Sharpened Pencils

It’s back to school, back to routine and back to a busy schedule jam-packed with everything the kids have going on and work and weekends. And, come back to school and routine time, it’s time for the Cooking Season to begin! Sure, salads and pizza and burgers and dogs are fun to cook and eat. Beer and chips and dip are great evening patio dinners, but come September it’s time to turn back inside and cook real foods: comforting foods, soup-foods, healthy foods, vegetarian foods, baked goods-foods, etc. etc. amen.

20130916-094823.jpg

And so I’m getting back to “formal” meal planning, spending an hour or so with cookbooks, my catalog of digital recipes and a couple of notebooks, and planning out the next seven days of dinners.

Friday: Mushroom & Spinach Quesadillas, Butternut Squash Soup

Saturday: MD RenFest: no cooking!

Sunday (FOOTBALL): Beef BBQ (family recipe) and Baked Macaroni and Cheese (from Cook’s Illustrated: Cover & Bake)

Monday: Moroccan Spiced Chickpea Soup, baked Sweet Potatoes

Tuesday: Stir-Fried Rice Noodles with Asparagus and Eggs (from A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen)

Wednesday: Leftovers

Thursday: Glazed Salmon (Cook’s Illustrated), sautéed Spinach, Garlicky White Bean puree (from A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen)

I’m trying to make and effort to eat better breakfasts. My usual is eating junk while I make the kids breakfast and lunch. But I always feel better if I actually cook myself something. So for this week I’m going to try to make oatmeal every morning. I plan on: steel-cut oats, golden raisins, walnuts, coconut and a drizzle of honey.

2 thoughts on “A Bouquet of Newly Sharpened Pencils

  1. Hi Jess, thanks for your post. After the overwhelming first couple of weeks of having a child in Kindergarten, I’m trying to get back into the swing of planning dinners. You’ve inspired me to grab my notebook instead of some fast food.

Leave a Reply

