It’s Friday, I’m in Love

Happy Friday! Here are just some random, only semi-food related thoughts for today:

  • Over on Food Lush I wrote about this easy yummy lunch I make with quinoa and a fried egg. I wanted to add two things: I usually make a batch of quinoa, keep it in the fridge and heat it in a frying pan when I want to make lunch. Then I dump the quinoa in a bowl and use the same pan to fry the egg. Second, this week I had some leftover broccoli in the fridge so I threw that in with the quinoa and it was a great addition!
  • I’ve started doing (trying to do) a little bit of yoga each morning. I used to go to yoga classes regularly but now that we have three children who have their own evening activities, and my husband and I both try to run regularly-ish, it just isn’t possible anymore. (Then there’s the cost :/) but ANYWAY- I have been thinking about a home yoga practice for a long time, and so finally just came up with a plan. A little breathing, some cat/cow stretches and then several rounds of sun salutations. I’m trying to be mindful and meditative during this practice so I light candles, set an intention and try to clear my head even if it’s just for the few minutes I’m there. And honestly, after 3 days, I am so excited about this. It only takes about 15 minutes and then the rest of the day I’m standing up straighter and feeling more calm and centered.
  • I guess that’s it, you would have thought I’d have more to say, but I’m sleepy from Valentine’s dinner red wine.

mosaice7e82441639730b442889f7f1e80480ac554c04a

Leave a Reply

